The island of Rhodes is located at the crossroads of two major sea routes of the Mediterranean
between the Aegean Sea and the coast of the Middle East, as well as Cyprus and Egypt. The meeting point of three continents, it has known many civilizations. Throughout its long history the different people who settled on Rhodes left their mark in all aspects of the island’s culture: art, language, architecture. Its strategic position brought to the island great wealth and made the city of Rhodes one of the leading cities of the ancient Greek world. Rhodes is the largest island in the Dodecanese.Its capital city, located at its northern tip, is the capital of the Prefecture with the Medieval Town in its centre. In 1988 the Medieval Town was designated as a World Heritage City. The Medieval Town of Rhodes is the result of different architectures belonging to various historic eras, predominantly those of the Knights of St. John. 

History of Rhodes


How to get there


The International airport “Diagoras” (airport Code: RHO) is the only one in Rhodes. Rhodes has 5-6 direct
flights per day from Athens (ATH) and 2 direct flights per day from Thessaloniki (SKG). Between April and
October there are also frequent charter flights from most major European cities.

Flights between Athens and Rhodes are offered by:

Olympic Air Aegean Airlines

Information for the flights schedules to and from Rhodes via Athens, as well as timetables for flights to and from Athens.


Blue Star Ferries, is the major ship company on the line : Athens (Pireas) – Rhodes which provide daily
service to and from Rhodes.

Central Port Authority of Rhodes: (+30) 2241022220, 2241028666, 2241028888

Passports& Visas

Greece is a Member-State of the European Union (EU) and has ratified the Schengen Agreement. Citizens traveling inside the EU just need to display their police ID Card without the need of a passport. However, a passport is necessary for a number of other transactions, such as currency exchange, purchases, etc.

Visas are not required by citizens of Member-States of the Schengen Agreement. Greece follows the provisions of the Schengen Agreement, which abolished controls on common internal lands, at air and sea borders and allows Member-State citizens to travel around without a visa for a short stay period of up to three (3) months. However, airlines and other carriers require a valid passport and/or police I.D.
Card or other form of official identification means.

Citizens of the majority of the countries that are not Member-States of the Schengen Agreement require a visa to enter Greece and the EU Visitors from these countries can obtain further information from the Hellenic Embassies or Consulates in their countries, or even from their travel agencies.

Visas are not required by holders of valid passports from the following non-EU countries if they want to visit Greece and remain in the country for up to 3 months (90 days) within a chronological period of 6 months:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Vatican, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Marino, Singapore, South Korea, USA, Uruguay, Venezuela

Note: During their stay in Greece, visitors with a visa must also have suitable insurance coverage for emergency medical or other needs.

Embassies and Consulates in Greece

Helpful links